Skip to content

“All of this over a skateboard”

December 17, 2010

(Collaboration with Colleen Jenkins and Lee Logan)

TAMPA — Two men lay on the ground, one with a gun, the other with a bullet hole in his chest.

There had been a heated dispute over whether a skateboarder should be allowed on a basketball court. A struggle ensued, then a gunshot.

Two 911 calls, released for the first time Monday with other investigative documents in the manslaughter prosecution of Trevor Dooley, recorded the scene that unfolded Sept. 26 in a Valrico neighborhood park.

“I see the blood,” the 14-year-old skateboarder said in one phone call, panting. “I saw the gun. I heard it go off.”

“Oh, my God,” a witness, Michael Whitt, said in another call. “I think this man is dead. … Shot right in the heart. … Please hurry. …”

In the background, the man with the gun argued with a woman.

“He was laying on my chest!” Dooley said.

“After you pulled a gun on him!” she said.

“Oh, my God,” Whitt said again. “All of this over a skateboard. I can’t believe this.”

“I was walking away from him,” Dooley could be heard saying.

“I know you were, sir,” Whitt said. “I know. I know you were. I saw it.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

